Basic Kicks, cont – Day 7

So yesterday was my Gracie Garage, we drill about 20 different moves 5-10 time each and did a fight simulation against a striking opponent who’s gotten the better of you (distance control  block the punch, establish clinch, leg hook take down, get the mount, failed Americana to arm bar transition). Was good time, I am sore from heads to toe. All in all about 3 hours on the mat.

My intention was to get some Kenpo drills in as well, but instead I passed right out when I got home. SO today a work I used my lunch to workout. Not a lot of time. But I got it done.

1)      30 minutes of Cardio Kick boxing

2)      Basics – Kicking

So snap kick makes sense to me, I still don’t see the Neutral bow position as helpful for it. For purposes of meeting Geoff’s requirements I am drilling it, but if attacked tomorrow there is no way I would use that stance. I would certainly drop in a Muay Thai style. Hopefully Ill have a better understanding of why in a few more lessons.

The rear snap kick to the groin is pretty good. Picking up on it jut fine. But I am having a hard time landing the kick with the heel! Anyone have any recommendations here? Naturally my toes extend outward. I did the move in slow motion and I can’t even bend my foot in such a manner than once my leg is extended that my toes could be up. It’s not even doable. I did the motion best I could, 30 on each side. I also some stretches in response to this flexibility limitation.

geoff example

The next kick was the round house. I was familiar with this kick also, but haven’t done it in recent memory. I was able to deliver both variations with the right leg with no issue. The left leg how ever knocked my clean on my rear. Went ahead and drilled a good 30 on each side, with each variation (120 total)

Wheel Kick was quick and slightly unpredictable, while the round house delivered more power but was certainly more choreographed.

Since I am on lunch during this, I didn’t have time for the full review which I would have liked to have done. Perhaps tonight. In the mean time I really need to work Yoga into my routine. It’s hurting my jiu jitsu and its clearly hurting my kicks.

Update:
So here I am after work. Just finished rewatching Geoff videos on Stances and blocks. Drilled each one 20 times. Did the walks he mentions a few times each. Good to jog your memory. Without a complete review each session, I doubt Ill remember much week over week.

Leave a comment